Bayern Munich wins 8 consecutive Bundesliga title


Bayern Munich

Bayern Munich won their eighth straight Bundesliga title with a 1-0 win over Werder Bremen on Tuesday.

The victory opened a 10-point gap between Bayern Munich and second-placed Borussia Dortmund who, despite having three games in hand, could not catch the champions.

A first-half goal by Robert Lewandowski saw the German powerhouse become the first club in a major European league to win the title after returning to play amid the coronavirus pandemic.

Bayern are still in pursuit of a Treble, as they will play for the German Cup and remain alive in the Champions League.

Also read  Klopp's words after Henderson bags Footballer of the Year award

Goalkeeper Manuel Neuer shows his world class skills for Bayern after leaving 10 men for the final 10 minutes after the dismissal of Alphonso Davies, making a sensational one-handed save to secure yet another league title.

The club have dominated the Bundesliga in the last seven years with the average gap between first and second place over 14 points.

Borussia Dortmund have finished second four times while RB Leipzig, VfL Wolfsburg and Schalke 04 have each filled the runners up spot once in that time.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here